Burt Rutan Wins 2015 Wright Trophy

Burt Rutan (Photo credit: Mark Greenberg)

This week, the National Aeronautic Association announced renowned aerospace engineer, Burt Rutan, as this year's recipient of the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy.

Since 1948, the NAA award has honored one recipient annually for "…significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States."

From his numerous roles as a developer — innovating designs of the Voyager and SpaceShipOne and serving as a project engineer at Edwards Air Force Base — to his extensive leadership — becoming director of development at Bede Aircraft and founding Scaled Composites, LLC — Rutan has pushed aviation forward throughout his career.

"For 40 years Burt has been one of the giants in aerospace development and engineering," said NAA chairman Jim Albaugh said. "So much of his work has had an impact on aircraft design and performance, and he is very worthy of one of the most important awards in aviation."



Get exclusive online content like this delivered straight to your inbox by signing up for our free enewsletter.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get the latest FLYING stories delivered directly to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter