NIFA Unveils SAFECON 2023 Invitee List

The annual competition is set to be held this year in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

The 2014 SAFECON competition at the Ohio State University Center for Aviation Studies. [File Photo: James D. DeCamp]

Shortly after World War I, returning service members sought a way to advance their aviation skills while attending colleges and universities. The National Intercollegiate Flying Association (NIFA) was created to offer pilots an opportunity to demonstrate their skills through friendly competition.

In addition to helping collegiate aviators expand their flying skills, NIFA allows these pilots to further their careers by networking with industry officials and demonstrating their willingness and ability to go above and beyond the regular curriculum.

The organization has grown over the decades, and now select members of NIFA attend the Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON). This year, SAFECON 2023 will be held in May in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

In May 2022, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott won the NIFA SAFECON national championship for the second consecutive year at the Ohio State University Airport (KOSU). The win marked the 14th time the school won the top title.

Following the SAFECON 2022-23 regional competition season, NIFA announced it is inviting the following colleges and universities to compete at the National SAFECON 2023:

Region 1

  • United States Air Force Academy
  • Utah State University
  • Metro State University of Denver
  • Aims Community College

Region 2

  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Prescott
  • California Aeronautical University
  • San Jose State University

Region 3

  • Western Michigan University
  • Ohio State University
  • Kent State University

Region 4

  • LeTourneau University
  • Oklahoma State University 
  • Southeastern Oklahoma State University
  • Louisiana Tech University

Region 6

  • University of North Dakota
  • University of Nebraska – Omaha
  • Minnesota State University – Mankato
  • Kansas State University
  • University of Central Missouri

Region 7

  • Bridgewater State University
  • United States Military Academy

Region 8

  • Southern Illinois University
  • Purdue University
  • Lewis University

Region 9

  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Daytona
  • Auburn University
  • Polk State College

Region 10

  • Liberty University
  • Averett University
  • United States Naval Academy
Meg Godlewski has been an aviation journalist for more than 24 years and a CFI for more than 20 years. If she is not flying or teaching aviation, she is writing about it. Meg is a founding member of the Pilot Proficiency Center at EAA AirVenture and excels at the application of simulation technology to flatten the learning curve. Follow Meg on Twitter @2Lewski.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get the latest FLYING stories delivered directly to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter