Meet the 4 Finalists for the 2023 Collier Trophy

The winner will be announced in Washington, D.C., in March.

The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) has revealed the finalists competing for the 2023 Robert J. Collier Trophy, a prestigious honor recognizing remarkable achievements in aeronautics and astronautics. This year’s finalists, representing various sectors of aviation, promise one of the most diverse classes in the award’s history.

The four finalists include:

  • MagniX for magni650 Electric Propulsion Unit (EPU)
  • NASA, University of Arizona, and Lockheed Martin for the OSIRIS-REx Team
  • Reliable Robotics for Advanced Autonomous Flight Systems
  • U.S. Air Force for the X-62A ACE Team

Amy Spowart, president and CEO of the NAA, emphasized the organization’s commitment to recognizing outstanding contributions to aviation and aerospace.

“The Collier Trophy, bestowed since 1911, is the story of aviation innovation and advancement,” Spowart said.

The final round of the Collier Trophy selection process is set for March 21 in Washington, D.C. Each finalist will present their nomination, accompanied by visual aids and presentation slides, followed by a Q&A session with the selection committee.

Spowart expressed anticipation to see who will be honored as the 2023 Collier Trophy recipient.

For additional details and a comprehensive list of Collier Trophy honorees, visit the NAA website.


New to Flying?


Already have an account?