Senate Confirms Two New NTSB Board Members

Bruce Landsberg is an active general aviation pilot. Bruce Landsberg

The Senate Tuesday night confirmed two nominees to the National Transportation Safety Board, a vote that now brings the Board back to full strength with five members. Bruce Landsberg, a Republican, was confirmed to fill the slot of vice chairman Christopher A. Hart, a term that runs until December 31, 2022. President Donald Trump first nominated Landsberg in late September 2017. Like the current NTSB Chairman Robert L Sumwalt, Landsberg is a South Carolina native.

Bruce Landsberg is the former executive director of the AOPA Foundation, where he served from May 1992 until May 2010. He also served as president of the AOPA Foundation and the Air Safety Institute between May 2010 and December 2014. Landsberg was associate editor of Flying magazine between February 1980 and March 1981.

Also confirmed was Jennifer Homendy, a Democrat from Virginia. Homendy’s was nominated by the President in April 2018 for a term that runs until December 31, 2019. She served as Democratic Staff Director of the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials for the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, U.S. House of Representatives, a position she has held since 2004. Homendy advises members of Congress on legislation involving railroads, the safety of oil and natural gas pipelines, and the transportation of hazardous materials. She also worked for the Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO, the American Iron and Steel Institute, and the National Federation of Independent Business.

Rob MarkAuthor
Rob Mark is an award-winning journalist, business jet pilot, flight instructor, and blogger.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get the latest FLYING stories delivered directly to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter