EAA Inducts Five Aviators Into the Sport Aviation Hall of Fame

Darryl Murphy was one of five selected from the EAA community. EAA

The Experimental Aircraft Association last week recognized contributions made to the world of flight by five people as they were inducted into the EAA Sport Aviation Halls of Fame in Oshkosh. Inductees are selected by their peers for myriad contributions made to their respective areas of aviation.

Inductees included Darryl Murphy of Chilliwack, British Columbia into the homebuilders hall of fame, Thomas Adams Jr. of Brenham, Texas into the International Aerobatic Club hall of fame, Jack Roush of Livonia, Michigan into the Warbirds of America hall of fame and Eugene Smith who, along with Ron Alexander who were both inducted posthumously into the ultralights and vintage aircraft association halls of fame respectively.

In addition, Ken Kellner of Neenah, Wisconsin received the Henry Kimberly Spirit of Leadership Award for his efforts on behalf of EAA and the local community. Kellner has flown as a volunteer pilot at EAA’s Pioneer Airport for 20 years and has flown more than 2,600 young people as part of the EAA Young Eagles program.

Rob MarkAuthor
Rob Mark is an award-winning journalist, business jet pilot, flight instructor, and blogger.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get the latest FLYING stories delivered directly to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter