Red Bull Releases 2017 Air Race World Championship Schedule

The season will include two stops in the United States and a brand-new venue.

The schedule for the 2017 Red Bull Air Race season has been released, and this year’s tour stops feature a brand-new venue in Russia as well as an old U.S. favorite.

The eight-race season kicks off February 10 in Abu Dhabi, which has hosted the season opener for the past nine seasons. Next, on April 15, the tour visits San Diego, a stop made popular when it hosted races during three consecutive seasons from 2007-2009.

Later in the summer, the Air Race will make its debut in Kazan, a city known as the sports capital of Russia.

It all comes to a head in Indianapolis, with the final 2017 World Championship race and crowning of the overall winner on October 14-15 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

“I can’t remember when I’ve been so excited about a season. The calendar goes from strength to strength, with every stop holding special significance as either a landmark location in the sport’s history or a premiere in a dramatic new setting. We’re especially thrilled to bring high-speed, low-altitude racing to a new audience in Russia,” said Erich Wolf, general manager of Red Bull Air Race GmbH.

Below is the full calendar of stops along the World Championship tour:

Abu Dhabi — February 10-11

San Diego — April 15-16

Chiba, Japan — June 3-4

Budapest, Hungary — July 1-2

Kazan, Russia — July 22-23

TBA, Europe — August 12-13

TBA, Europe — September 2-3

Indianapolis — October 14-15


New to Flying?


Already have an account?