Lindbergh Award Recipients Announced

Every year, the Lindbergh Foundation presents an award in honor of the association's namesake, Charles Lindbergh. For 2011, Dean Kamen has been chosen to receive the Lindbergh Award — for his dedication to the foundation's key mission of balancing technology with nature. Kamen is most famous as the inventor of the Segway motorized individual transport. But his personal focus has been on his work with FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology), which he established to promote technology. The annual FIRST Robotics competition draws teams from around the world to compete with their unique robots at several levels. Also honored this year by the Lindbergh Foundation are GE Aviation, winner of the Corporate Award for Balance; and author/explorer Milbry Polk, founder and director emeritus of WINGs WorldQuest, who takes the Ann Morrow Lindbergh Award. The honors will be presented at a gala celebration and dinner March 30, during this year's Sun 'N Fun International Fly-In and Expo in Lakeland, Florida.