DOT's 'Future of Aviation' Committee Meets Tuesday

May 25 marks the first meeting of a new committee formed by the Department of Transportation. DOT Secretary Ray LaHood formed the Future of Aviation Advisory Committee in March, and it consists of representatives from airlines, general aviation, airports, manufacturers, the financial community, academics and environmentalists. Cessna President Jack Pelton will serve on the committee, which is chaired by Susan Kurland, DOT assistant secretary for aviation and international affairs. Including this Tuesday, the group will meet a total of four times within a year's time to evaluate the competitiveness of the U.S. aviation industry and make recommendations to the Obama Administration. The focus will be on safety, viability, environmental challenges and solutions, and funding for aviation infrastructure systems. The meeting next week is open to members of the public who register in advance with the DOT, and will take place at the agency's headquarters in Washington, D.C.